Part II: Types of Ear Piercings

I told you all I would finish this list!  Enough of the small chit-chat, I’ll get cracking:

1.  I’ll start slightly adventurous and discuss what a daith piercing is.  This is another tiny part of your ear, and I can describe it as the tiny bit of flesh right above your ear canal.  It is fleshy enough to pinch, but that’s about it.  I feel like since this part of the ear is so small, it might pack a little more of a punch in the pain department.  But in the instances I’ve seen this piercing, the two main types of jewelry I’ve seen has been simple captive rings and mini barbels, both of which have the tiniest gauges to accommodate this piercing.  Pain rate: 3

 194f25178f4b9d6174837ed7549a8d6e

2.  Keeping with the adventurous tone,  I’ll next introduce the snug piercing.  I think this is one of the most perfect names for a piercing, simply because in all the images I’ve ever seen it, the piercing literally looks snuggled comfortably into the ear.  While the needle to get this piercing isn’t exactly the most “snuggly” agent, the simplicity is quite becoming.  This piercing can be located on the inner cartilage of the ear.  I’ve seen some people do two separate posts for the two respective holes, but there are people who find the right gauge and length of a barbel to use.  Pain rate: 3.5

snug2

3. Anti-Tragus:  We covered the traditional tragus piercing last post, so this one is literally the opposite.  So, just north of the lobe, the little ridge that looks like it’s about to kiss the tragus…that’s the anti-tragus.  I’m not sure how helpful that location description was, but this is why I include pictures. xD  Anyways, the jewelry and aftercare is near-exactly the same as the tragus piercing.  I feel like the primary jewelry for this piercing seems to be hoops, but you could easily use posts as well. Pain rate: 4

download

4. Orbital Piercings: This one is particularly new to me because I can honestly say, I have never seen anyone actually have one.  This doesn’t mean it isn’t popular in places other than my small-spanned stomping ground.  And one of the more unique aspects of orbital piercings is there is no specific place they are typically seen.  But it consists literally of a hoop (most with a captive ring, rather) and the hoop goes through two different entry/exit points.  Some of the places I’ve seen have been between the tragus and anti-tragus, connecting the two; the forward helix area of the ear; and various parts of the lobe and outer conch.  Pain rate: 3.5

tumblr_mw7z4prZcl1t1r0kxo1_500

5.  Forward Helix Piercings:  I feel like I talk way too much about these piercings…but that just could be due to the fact that I am in the process of completing my forward helix piercings.  Anywho, I’ve seen primarily posts in these piercings, but that doesn’t mean you couldn’t use a variety of different types of jewelry to wear with this.  I have definitely chosen to stick with the posts with the labret backs for mine, but it really is the pierced individual’s discretion.  Oh, and this piercing is located on the most forward part of the helix/cartilage.  Pain rate: 2

images

6.  Alright and the last ear piercing I’ll put up here will  be the transverse lobe piercing.  Again, this isn’t a type of piercing I see all the time when I’m out and about…even on a college campus.  But it is still interesting, all the same.  This piercing legitimately goes through the majority of your lobe.  However, unlike the traditional lobe piercing, the piercing is not perpendicular to the lobe; a transverse lobe piercing passes through the lobe in a parallel fashion.  And the only jewelry I have found commonly used in a barbel.  Pain rate: 3

closeup-transverse-lobe-piercing-picture

And that is the conclusion of the types of ear piercings, but if there are any new ones that pop up after this post, I will probably dedicate a mini-post to cover the description.  For now, these lists will provide some insight for those of you who are deliberating whether or not you want to go with the flow of lobe and cartilage piercings or go against the grain and get a daith or rook piercing.  Happy piercing!  If you have any comments or questions about this post please contact me at mypiercingstory@gmail.com 🙂

Leave a comment